Follow us for the latest updates

  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
ACC Web AD.gif

Ten-match Champions League group stage set to be forced through by UEFA despite opposition

UEFA will look to force through new Champions League format changes tomorrow, despite teams from across Europe opposing the propositions.

Ten-match Champions League group stage set to be forced through by UEFA despite opposition

According to reports, some of those who have been opposed to some of the reforms, inlacing giving two places to clubs based on their historical record in Europe, have conceded defeat and are expecting the European governing body to approve its plans in their entirety by the executive committee.

Some of the proposals to the new Champions League format include 36 teams being involved with the competition, instead of its current 32, using the 'Swiss system' and ten group matches instead of six. Each team will be required to play five home and five away fixtures in the group against 10 opponents of different strengths, based on seeding.

Results of those games will feed into one league table, with the top eight automatically going into the knockout rounds and the clubs between ninth and 24th place in the table will have play-off matches to decide the other eight. There will also no longer be a drop-down into the the Europa League competition.

UEFA's Club Competitions Committee is set to recommend the changes today before a full executive committee meeting tomorrow.

The proposals have been met with some controversy, in particular, the access to the tournament pressure on the footballing calendar. Two extra places will be earmarked for clubs with the best coefficient who have missed out on qualifying for the Champions league but have qualified for the Europa League.

The report claimed that the Premier League was one of the leagues opposing some of the extra matches that would have to be played during January and has expressed concerns over player welfare with the extra fixtures.

Insiders of UEFA have argued that the new format will revitalise the competition and is a massive improvement on the original plans to have 14 group matches.

Author: Jake Wilkin