Follow us for the latest updates

  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
ACC Web AD.gif

PFA announce the 13 members of the newly formed Players' Board

The Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) has announced the 13 members of the newly formed Players' Board, as well as confirming new chief executive Maheta Molango.

PFA announce the 13 members of the newly formed Players' Board

Over the last 12 months, the PFA have committed to transforming their governance and operational structures, which has seen the formation of the Players' Board, a new chief executive, four non-executive directors and a new operations board.

The new board is made up of 13 elected representatives, two members from each of the five divisions (Premier League, Women's Super League, Championship, League One and League Two), plus three former members.

“I have been proud to see the number of candidates who applied to be part of the new Players’ Board. The strength of the union has always come from the players," said current PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

"Football, now more than ever, needs a strong PFA. With this collective unity, I have no doubt that the players will represent the game’s best interests, and we will continue to be the strongest sportspersons union in the world.”

PFA chairman, Ben Purkiss added: “I am proud to have led the transformation at the PFA, and I’m delighted with the composition of the new Players’ Board.

“Our new structure rightly places the players at the heart of the PFA and the decision-making process.”

The new Players' Board:

Premier League / WSL

From left to right: Tom Heaton (Aston Villa), Wes Morgan (Leicester City), Danielle Carter (Reading FC) and Steph Houghton (Manchester City).

Championship / League One

From left to right: Troy Deeney (Watford), George Friend (Birmingham City), Omar Beckles (Crewe Alexandra) and John Mousinho (Oxford United).

League Two / Former Players

From left to right: Peter Clarke (Tranmere Rovers), Kevin Ellison (Newport County), Chris McCready, Marvin Sordell and Peter Vincenti.

Additionally, the PFA have confirmed that Maheta Molango have agreed terms, subject to a work permit, and is expected to start formally within the role from June 1, 2021.

Gordon Taylor commented: “I’m pleased we are making good progress confirming the appointment of Maheta Molango as our new Chief Executive. Maheta has a formidable CV and is widely recognised as one of Spain’s top sports lawyers. He is fluent in five languages, vastly experienced in representing football’s elite performers and a playing career that includes time in England’s lower tiers. I’m confident he will relate to players at every level of our membership.”

The new chief executive will form part of the new Operational Board and will be supported by four newly appointed independent non-executive directors, the chair and vice-chair of the Players’ Board, and the finance director.

The four non-executives are Darren Hardman, Trevor Johnson, Ebru Köksal and Geoff Thompson, who bring vast experience from the highest levels of business, tech, charity and sport.

Author: Jake Wilkin