Follow us for the latest updates

  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
ACC Web AD.gif

NHL sells naming rights to its four divisions

The National Hockey League (NHL) has sold the naming rights to the four, realigned divisions ahead of the 2020/21 season.

In December, it was announced that teams would be regrouped into regional divisions in order to minimise travel, therefore limiting the risk of spreading COVID-19 and providing a greater chance of the season remaining undisrupted.

Honda will become the sponsor of the West Division; the all-Canadian league will be known as the Scotia NHL North Division; the Central Division will be sponsored by financial services firm Discovery; and insurance provider MassMutual will has taken the naming rights of the East Division.

In its 103-year history, the NHL has never before had division sponsors but having suffered financially from the coronavirus pandemic, the league is looking for different revenue streams where possible in order to recoup some of the losses that will incur throughout the 2020/21 season, which will not see fans permitted into the arenas.

Another revenue stream that NHL teams have looked to exploit is through the use of helmet sponsors.

The new season will kickstart on January 13, where teams will play 56 regular season games. East, west and central division sides will face each other in their division eight times, whereas franchises in the North Division will face every other team in the division nine of ten times.

Author: Jake Wilkin