Follow us for the latest updates

  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
ACC Web AD.gif

England's South Africa tour postponed due to COVID-19

England’s cricket tour of South Africa has been postponed following a confirmation of coronavirus cases.

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Cricket South Africa (CSA) have been awaiting the result of two potential positive coronavirus tests amongst the England cricket team before determining whether the final two matches of the ODI Series can go ahead against South Africa.

The first ODI on Sunday, which was set to be held in Paarl, was abandoned after two positive tests were returned by members of the England party. Yesterday’s ODI was postponed until the ECB and CSA waited for the confirmation of the tests.

It has now been confirmed that the Tour has been postponed, with a view to playing the series in the future.

The Tour has since been completely postponed, with there being potential for the remainder of the series to be held in the future.

“We have always maintained that the welfare of our players and management is paramount,” said Tom Harrison, ECB CEO.

“We were concerned about the potential impact that recent developments might have on the wellbeing of the touring party, and so after consultation with Cricket South Africa, we have jointly made the decision to postpone the remaining matches in this Series, in the best interest of the players’ welfare.

“I would like to thank Cricket South Africa for their support and understanding on this matter and look forward to working with them to identify a time when we can return to play these fixtures in the future.”

CSA Acting CEO, Kugandrie Govender added: “The concern over the mental health impact of recent events on all involved is not one that we as CSA or the ECB take lightly, and the decision to postpone the tour is the most responsible and reasonable course of action for us.

“I would like to thank the ECB for the continued positive relations, and we look forward to hosting the England men’s team in the near future.”

Author: Jake Wilkin