Follow us for the latest updates

  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
ACC Web AD.gif

ECB to create "memorable summer of cricket for the women’s game"

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has claimed 2021 will be a "memorable summer of cricket for the women’s game" having announced the continuation of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy.

ECB to create "memorable summer of cricket for the women’s game"

The competition was formed in 2020 to ensure women's cricket could take place during the pandemic and is set to return this summer alongside the new Women's Regional T20 competition.

The tournament will start from May 29 and will see eight teams compete against one another in a group stage before the final on September 25.

The Women's Regional T20 will start on June 26 and feature eight teams, split into two groups, where they will play three home and three away matches before a Finals day on September 5.

England Women will also be in action as they host two international series through the summer of 2021.

“This promises to be a truly memorable summer of cricket for the women’s game," said Clare Connor, managing director of women's cricket for the ECB.

"We are not only set to further professionalise the game with more players on full-time contracts than ever before but, crucially, we will showcase our game to more young girls across England and Wales so that they can say cricket is a game for them.

"I am particularly proud that we will continue to move forward with Rachael Heyhoe Flint’s name, with everything she represented for women’s cricket, firmly entrenched in our journey.

"The launch of women’s regional cricket last summer, despite the challenges caused by the pandemic, was another significant step forward for our domestic game. We are now looking forward to seeing those regional teams play twice as much cricket this summer with the addition of the T20 competition."

Author: Jake Wilkin